My Son Learns about his 44th President

While my son was at school yesterday, his kindergarten class watched the inauguration. They also read books about Obama and his teachers explained the significance of that day. When T. jumped into the car yesterday afternoon, he yelled out to me “Hey Mom! You won’t BELIEVE why the President’s Office is called the OVAL office!” Hmmm, I can’t imagine – but I was thrilled that he knew. So then it was my turn for a presidential factoid. “Hey, did you know President Obama has two little girls?” I happened to spy an eyeroll in my rear-view mirror. “I KNOW that.”

Already, President Barack Obama is being taught in schools. Already, he is considered part of my son’s “social studies” curriculum. Already, he is getting colored in and pasted on to construction paper.

It should come as no surprise then that I consider this sort of school work: “refrigerator-worthy” – and it is posted proudly for all to see.

bo1

bo2

4 Comments

Filed under Education, Giving respect, Inauguration, Inspiring people, Obama, Patriotism, Presidency, Teaching kids

4 responses to “My Son Learns about his 44th President

  1. kinderblogger

    I did a lot on Obama today as a k teacher, the kids cannnot get enough! Thanks for sharing this story!

  2. bandnerdtx

    How wonderful that the children are excited about the greater world!

  3. My kids have been totally psyched about the presidency since they did a mock election in school. And they voted for Obama, without mommy’s prodding. They think he’s such a celebrity!

  4. I love this. Bird came home with a little book he made about Obama and his family. It’s awesome to get them engaged at this young age.

Leave a Reply

