A Flock of Birds in my Backyard

This morning, my 5 year old came running in to tell me there were lots and lots and LOTS of birds in our backyard. “Uh huh, that’s nice dear.” “No, Mommy, LOTS. Come see.” And I did. And so did my husband with my 2 year old toddling behind us.

There were, in fact, many birds in our backyard. Hundreds potentially. A flock like I had never seen were swooping and swirling and flying just above our heads. And then landing in one bush, weighing it down. And then off they went again. It was close to magical.

I grabbed my video camera and threw this little montage of the scene together. It certainly doesn’t capture the feeling or size of this flock flying all about us. But blog-worthy still. My backyard strikes again.

By the way, I used my Muvee Reveal software for this. It took 5 minutes to put together. The software edits the footage to work right along with the song. Pretty cool, huh?

4 Comments

Filed under Animal appreciation, Florida, One of those moments, Wildlife

4 responses to “A Flock of Birds in my Backyard

  1. Dang, that’s a lot of birds! What’s so tasty in that tree? And how do you work your video magic? I am so clueless with my Flip.

  2. That is a cool vid! That’s called roosting. I love that feeling of swirling and curling in the sky. Thanks for capturing it- it is probably starlings or grackles.

  3. Wow, that is one bunch of birds! Great capture of it. Glad you had your video camera handy.

  4. Wow. Amazing. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

