Flight 1549 Represents Hope for our Country

flight-1549

Last night curled under a blanket, my husband and I sat and watched the stunning footage of flight 1549 bob in the Hudson. While watching smiling passengers step off the ferries that rescued each and every one of them, my husband said something to me.

“Its a strange karma, symbolic thing, don’t you think?”

“How do you mean?”

“In Bush’s first year as President, we witnessed the worst plane catastrophe in history. And now… we are witnessing the most miraculous plane catastrophe in history, happening only hours before Bush says his final farewells to the public.”

I looked at him. “Wow. You’re right.” He absolutely had a point.

I don’t cry at the drop of a hat usually but everytime I see yesterday’s plane footage, I feel tears threaten. And I know that this entire country has been awed by this miracle, we are all equally emotional. But it seems to represent some level of hope for me also. It seems as if a message is being sent. It seems the impossible can happen. We can survive this mess.

And as for Bush’s farewell, seeing him go is simply anti-climactic. I thought I would cheer the day. I thought I would be over the moon. But I’m not. I am left puzzeled by his rationalizing, heroic “I made the tough choices, even if they weren’t the popular choices” sense of self. Honestly, he seems sadly delusional. If he really believes he did right by us, well, there is nothing left to say. Except, “Goodbye”.

Tuesday will represent the beginning of a new era for this country. But do I expect Obama to stand in front of the nation, tap his magic wand on day one and make everything all better? Hell no. I am worried for him. Really worried. And I am concerned about all the hope we have inside us. I know that he is an amazing leader, but this situation our country finds itself in could be an impossibility for any leader.

And yet, yesterday, everyone got out of that plane. Everyone, including one infant, is alive today. The impossible happened.

So this morning, I am taking a deep breath, I am watching out the window of my television as our nation dips and bobs over its troubles. I am holding my family close. And I will brace myself. But flight 1549 has inspired me. Just as our President elect has. It seems the impossible can happen and perhaps there will be a way out. So here I sit, clinging desperately onto a concept which has kept this country afloat before. That perplexing and amazing concept called: hope.

5 Comments

Filed under Bush, Deep thoughts, Economy, Karma, Miracles, Obama, One of those moments, Panicking, Presidency, Reality check, Signs

5 responses to “Flight 1549 Represents Hope for our Country

  1. Wow, this was a very inspirational post. Thank you. Your husband couldn’t have put it any better and I hope you don’t mind if I share his comments with the people in my life.

  2. beautifully written.
    I, too, was choked up as I watched it. It was amazing.

  3. Oh I LOVE LOVE LOVE your husband’s point. And I feel oddly emotional about this event too, maybe that’s exactly why.

    Your concluding paragraph is fabulous.

  4. Chills, I have chills. And I for one do cry at the drop of a hat. I sobbed listening to all the survivor stories and couldn’t stop thinking about what it must have been to be on that plane with my boys.

    And from your husband’s comment, I just know I’m going to like him! Smart cookie.

  5. Bob

    What’s the miracle with the plane crash a couple days ago that killed everyone?

    Yeah, miracle….

Leave a Reply

