Ways to Involve Your Kids in This Election.

There are only a few weeks left until we vote for our next President. Along with many other parents and citizens, I am nervous but hopeful about election day. But in the midst of all of this political chatter, how much do your children really understand about our upcoming election? Do they know who our candidates are? Do they understand our priveledge and right to vote? Would you even know how to engage them in a conversation about the election? I certainly wasn’t very sure, so I went hunting for some resources – and I would like to share them with all of you.

Now, what inspired me to look for these election resources exactly? The other morning I took a stab at explaining this election to my 5 year old. We were watching some highlights of an Obama rally on CNN. My son was clearly thrilled that I had not switched over to Playhouse Disney. To try and peak his interest some I said “Do you know who that is?” “No.” His bored tone told me he was anxious to learn more. “Well, let me tell you.” I tried to explain what our president does, who the candidates were and how I will be voting on election day. Blank look. So I simply said to him, “Do you know what you should call me? An ‘Obama Mama’.” Finally a smile and then a giggle. “Obama Mama! That’s silly! Obama Mama, Obama Mama, Obama Mama. … Can I have some Kix?”

This wasn’t this first time I have tried to explain the election to my son. Granted, he is only 5. He is simply trying to figure out the politics of kindergarten – certainly, our complex presidential election may be a bit out of reach still. But it got me thinking. What resources are there for parents with children interested in learning more about the election? If you have been trying to engage your children, check out the following sites. My son might be a little young still, but yours may not be!

PBS Kids, The Democracy Project: PBS does a fantastic job of putting together a fun, interactive website where kids can learn about becoming a president for a day and how our government works. It also allows kids to get into the voters booth and share what issues matter to them.

Kids Voting USA: While more of a website for teachers, it offers election information for children in grades ranging from K-12.

Scholastic.com: Scholastic does a wonderful job with their election website. Kids can vote for president, meet the candidates, read campaign news, read blogs written by kids, or even launch their own campaign for president.

Brain Pop: Looking for a straight forward video to explain the election to your kids? Check this site out.

TIME for kids: TIME magazine has a fun website with campaign games, information about the issues and even some pretty cool kid reporters sharing their own campaign experiences.

Would you like to make this election real for your kids and put together your own election and voting booth? Visit “ABC Teach” to find ballots, worksheets and directions to make your own voting booth.

The White House: The White House website offers further information for kids about our past presidents, the White House itself and even the presidential pets. Maybe you feel like coloring a president? Get out your crayons and print some of them out here!

Rock the Vote: And for your older children, sit them down to Rock the Vote. MTV makes it cool to get involved with this election.

Finally, I saw a bumper sticker the other day that read: “Kids Don’t Vote, but Moms Do!” (If you want one, please visit Momsrising.org.) That statement truly inspired me. Our children and their futures matter. However, as moms, we carry the responsibility to be their only advocates. And during this election, it is no different. Our children count on us to elect their leader. Please don’t forget to register yourself to vote. And then, consider bringing your child to vote with you – what better way to learn about this historical election than to have them truly experience it for themselves!

Cross posted at Type A Mom.

8 Comments

Filed under Children, Election, Government, Parenting, Politics, Teaching kids

8 responses to “Ways to Involve Your Kids in This Election.

  1. Also, there’s a book (that we just ordered through BigBrother’s school order) called Vote for Duck. I thought it would be a nice way to introduce the subject to the older son. They’ll also come to the polls with us!

  2. Gah! I meant to link both books. Also: Duck for President.

  3. Great post.

    I’ve always involved my kids in the election process — even taking them in to the polling booth me with to help me vote! The county where I live gets the public schools here to hold their own mock elections which is kinda cool for the kids.

  4. Sarah

    Cool resources – takes it a couple steps beyond the “My Mama’s for Obama” onesie I force Colin to wear.

  5. Fire Mom, we LOVE Duck for President! We’ve been reading it well before my kids could say “election.”

    Since my boys were newborns, I’ve been taking them to vote with me. I totally used them as a billboard and put a bib on them that read “Mommy loves me too much to vote Republican.” They also have donkey shirts and Yes We Can! shirts. I take them to vote in every single election, run offs and all. They love to vote. My kindergartener has a voting day at school. We even vote as a family on activities, dinner

    Morningside Mom, I think I love you. Thanks for doing the hard work in writing this. I was going to write the same thing but will now just link to yours instead. You rock! But you totally knew that already.

  6. Aw shucks Ilinap – huge Obama Mama hugs going your way…

  7. Thanks for doing my homework for me! This is a great list!

  8. Awesome post – thanks for sharing these ideas.

Leave a Reply

