29 Days of Giving.

As you all know, my friend’s story of charity was very inspiring for me. I was truly moved. And then, after reading my post, my blogger friend Mary from Everyday Baby Steps shared the link for the 29 Day Giving Challenge in her comment. I took a look. Wow. If I was ever inspired to get on board with a cause such as this one, it would be now.

Here’s the deal. For 29 days, I need to give something to someone every day. It does not need to be something of great value. It can be support, a hug, a favor, moving someones garbage cans off the road, spending more time with your children than you normally would, and on it goes. What is important here is the spirit of the gift and how it changes your own outlook on life.

Is this challenge starting to peak your interest? Then, go to the website, watch the video and really absorb what this is all about.

And I have to be honest, I was a little intimidated by this challenge. First of all, we aren’t exactly rolling in it these days. I am holding on to every tiny bit I have to get by. So what do I have to give? What could little ol’ me possibly give? Money is easy, but I don’t really have money to give. So I need to be creative. I need to *think* about what I can do to bring a little positivity into someones life – every day. FOR 29 DAYS. Egad.

All day yesterday, I hemmed and hawed about whether I could really do this. Am I selfless enough to be that thoughtful? Everyday? Am I even that nice?

Aw, c’mon Caroline. Buck up, you can do a little something more everyday for someone.

And you know what else I really like about this whole challenge? Its all about fostering good karma. Yeah, bring on good karma, I love that stuff

So, ok then. I’m in.

Now first of all, I want to be sure I do something I wasn’t planning on doing anyway. For instance, I can’t say giving my children dinner would count. As awesome as I think I am for toiling over that stove (er, microwave) – for me, that act of “charity” doesn’t really count (not that my kids would agree carrot sticks are exactly charity anyway).

Hmmm. So what am I going to give today? Yikes, I don’t know. We’ll see how the day unfolds. But you can be sure I will let you know. I am going to keep track of what I do everyday and then check in here once a week and give you a quick summary of how I am doing.

So. How about it? Yup, now I am looking at you. Are you in? Are you up for the 29 day challenge? If you are in, let me know! I need a “Giving Posse” of sorts. So come along for the ride and join the cause. And be sure to share your ideas! I still need to come up with something for today, for cripes sakes…

Happy Giving!

8 Comments

Filed under Inspiring people, Karma, Money, Philanthropy, Raising Awareness, Self-analysis

8 responses to “29 Days of Giving.

  1. I love this – thank you – will be participating absolutely!

  2. Pingback: 29 Day Challenge | Organic Yoga Mom

  3. Thea Gyde

    I am the Sam’s club shopper you wrote about the other day and I have to tell you…helping our friend never felt better for my husband and me. We love that family and would do anything to give them a “leg up”! In the meantime, I am your newest fan! I enjoy your blog and will commit to the 29 days of giving! Keep up the good work!

  4. Hi Thea! Thanks so much for stopping by! And see what you have started? I was so inspired by what you all did, I jumped into the 29 day challenge, blogged about it and now 5 others that I know about are doing it with me. Good things keep happening when a good things happen, I say… Thanks again for reading and what you did for our friend! 🙂

  5. This sounds like a wonderful idea and a great way to spread good will. Giving things like your time volunteering have always been immeasurable in my mind. Hats off to the person who started this…

  6. Mary

    Hey, Caroline! Yay, you’re in. I need to commit to another 29 days, as I kind of faltered my first time around. They’re trying to reach a goal of 2000 givers by the 29th of this month. Last I checked, they were only about 400 away. So you’ve given something just by spreading the word about the challenge! So cool to “meet” Thea.

  7. Mary

    BTW, I’m giving you interesting handouts on freelancing as my gift. I’ll send them soon.

Leave a Reply

