Giving Thanks and Going to BlogHer.

A crazy kind of fortune fell into my lap a little while ago. I won an all expenses paid trip to this year’s BlogHer conference in San Francisco. I know. It’s absolutely unbelievable. I was completely caught off guard. And I have been sitting on this news for fear the other shoe might drop. I mean, this is just too good to be true! But no shoe has dropped, babysitting has been lined up, the ladies at BlogHer came through, conference registration is done, plane tickets are bought and a very dear friend in SF is having me stay with her. So finally… FINALLY… I would like to take this opportunity to scream my gratitude and pure jubilation from the rooftops. Ok, so bear with me, here it goes…

WAAAHHHOOOOOOOO!!!!!! I’M GOING TO BLOGHER!!! YIPPI-KI-YAY!!!! SLAP MY ASS AND CALL ME SALLY! I AM GOING TO BLOGHER!!!!!! AHHHAHAHHAAHHHHAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!

Phew! Hee hee, I am really going to BlogHer!

But here’s the thing. Really, the emotion that is truly filling my heart right now is gratitude. You have to understand that this trip – a trip on my own, no kids, all for me and for my brain and my new found LOVE of blogging – means more to me than one could ever imagine. You see, I have been home with my children for 5 years now. Of course, I adore them. And, although we have hardly two pennies to rub together, I feel like the richest woman in the world that we have been able to afford to have me home. But my brain is mush, folks. Honestly. I am quite sure its shrunk from misuse, the stench of ghastly diapers and too much Noggin. I have been feeling like I would never find the old me.

But then I timidly started blogging. And it was like a tidal wave of brain cells rushed back over me. I CAN think; a truly “Scarecrow from the Wizard of Oz” moment, indeed.

And then I won this contest.

As you can imagine, this opportunity was absolutely unattainable before. Like so many families these days, we have nothing extra for anything as extravagant as a trip across the country for a blogging conference. Cha, RIGHT! And little ol’ me, just trying to keep up with diapers and light saber fights and smashed strawberries in the carpet… little ol’ me who pecks away at her 8 year old computer whenever a child is napping… little ol’ me who peers out into the world through her computer monitor because I just don’t get out so often…. I… *I*… get to go to BlogHer. I am humbled and beyond grateful.

The other part of this is how smoothly it has all worked out. First of all, the ladies at BlogHer rock. No doubt. Who am I? Some lowly Ragu contest winner. They sure don’t have to rush around on account of me. But they did! Thank you so much. And then my family, not quite entirely “getting” this blogging thing in the first place, well they all shuffled themselves and made it work so my kids would be looked after. Even the flight times and dates I was looking for were found without a problem. And my friend in San Fransisco is welcoming me with open arms, even though we haven’t seen each other in 10 years. To quote Natalie Merchant, it’s as if “Fate smiled at Destiny” – I am meant to be there.

Now, stop laughing, because I believe in this mystical mumbo jumbo crap. I do. I truly think the blogging thing is supposed to be happening in my life right now. So I am going to follow it and see just where it leads.

And I am so frigging PSYCHED about it!

So again, to the wonderful goddesses at BlogHer, thank you. A million times over. This is a big life changing thing for silly ol’ “weary mom whose only been blogging for 4 months” me. I don’t think you could have happened upon a more grateful winner. I am going to soak in every single second. And then, I’m going to come back here, to my 8 year old computer, and do the absolute best I can by this little blog.

“All the goddesses will come up to their ripped screen door and say ‘What do you want, dear?’ ‘I want inside.'”

-Ani Difranco

12 Comments

Filed under Blog love, BlogHer Conference, Identity crisis, Travel

12 responses to “Giving Thanks and Going to BlogHer.

  1. Can’t wait to meet you at the conference! As a fellow home-with-the-kids for a loooong time mom and also as a 3x BlogHer attendee who could only attend with financial help, I promise that you’ll love every second of it! Congratulations!

  2. Thanks so much Jenjen! I’ll look for you there! 🙂

  3. Congratulations! I would LOVE to go. You have only been blogging for 4 months? It seems like you may have quite a following already. What is your secret? I have been blogging for a little over a month, and I too LOVE it. Have fun at Blogher, with any luck, I will see you there next year!

  4. I love this and I love, love, love that you quote Ani at the end.

    Congratulations and I look forward to meeting you at BlogHer ’08.

  5. Hey! I won a trip there too! I’m going and can’t wait. I’ll be there with my camera grabbing pics, and my laptop blogging as I go. Hope to meet you there.

  6. Kacey – I will keep an eye out for you! Very cool you won a trip too!

    Denise – Thanks! And Ani, what can I say, she gets it right every time.

    Corina – Fingers crossed you can get there next year too.

  7. Woohoo! Congratulations. Can’t wait to meet everyone. It’s going to be awesome.

  8. Lauren

    Congrats Caroline! I am totally *not* surprised that you won because you’re an articulate, awesome complex woman. Have fun!!

  9. Oh! You won the Ragu contest! Congrats! You are so lucky. Have lots of lots of fun at BlogHer!

  10. Just me

    Try being home for 20 years with your kids and then your husband leaving…

  11. Congratulations! What a great conspiracy of the cosmos in your favor. Make sure you stop by the Zwaggle booth and say hello–and sprinkle some of that luck around. Have a great time.

  12. Congrats to you, that’s awesome! Maybe I’ll enter next year, so new to this & just trying to figure it all out! I enjoy BlogHer too!

Leave a Reply

